The Department of Physics is has been a part of the National Institute of Technology Sikkim since its establishment in the year 2010. Departmental Faculty members are actively engaged in teaching and research. Presently the Department offers Physics, Electromagnetic field theory, Solid state device and Basic Electrical Sciences courses to different engineering branches of B. Tech. The faculty members are presently engaged in research in the broad areas of effect of Noise on nonlinear system, low temperature physics, non-linear dynamics, quantum information and its interface with many-body physics, Time series analysis.

The Department has active research collaborations with Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, Jadavpur University and Harish-chandra Research Institute, Allahabad. Currently Radon gas monitoring system, a possible avenue for early earthquake detection, has been installed at NIT Sikkim, in colaboration with Jadavpur University.

Dr. Md. Nurujjaman
Head of Physics Department